Board of Trustees

Disabled Students Allowances Quality Assurance Group (DSA-QAG) is governed by a Board of Trustees. These trustees are unremunerated, and have no vested interest in the quality assurance process.

The National Union of Students (NUS) has two seats on the board, to ensure that disabled students always have a voice. The other trustees are independent, and are involved because of their interest and expertise. The current board members are:

Chair: Rebecca Harrison

Trustees: David Malcolm (Deputy Chair) (NUS), James Elliott (NUS), Richard Currie (Independent) and Ronald Barham (Independent)

Chair of the Board


Rebecca Harrison is the current Chair of the Board of DSA-QAG. Rebecca joined QAG in August 2011. Rebecca has over 20 years of experience in continuing professional development and student support services management gained in universities in the United States, the Middle East and the UK.

Register of Interest: Rebecca Harrison ROI 190117 (22 KB)

NUS Directors


David Malcolm joined the DSA-QAG Board of Trustees in September 2006, and was acting Chair between June 2007 and June 2008. David is the Head of Social Policy at the National Union of Students, where he has worked on student finance policy since 2003, and in 2007 took on management responsibility for other social policy areas including disabled students.

Register of Interest: David Malcolm ROI 12102016 (389 KB)

James Elliott is the current Disabled Students Officer at the National Union of Students. Previous to that, he was the Disabled Students Officer at Oxford University Students' Union, where he studied history.

Register of Interest: James Elliott ROI 03072016 (195 KB)

Independent Directors

Richard Currie

Richard Currie is very proud that he is from Grimsby. He has studied at the University of Coventry and has completed an undergraduate degree in Politics and International Relations, and has completed a postgraduate degree in International Relations. He has worked for various organisations for the past 6 years involving the campaign for disability equality at a local and national level.

Register of Interest: Richard Currie ROI 14092016 (196 KB)


Ronald Barham joined the DSA-QAG Board of Trustees in May 2016.

Register of Interest: Ronald Barham ROI 26052016 (48 KB)

Associate Board Members

The Department for Education (DfE), the Student Loans Company (SLC), National Health Service (NHS) and Open University also nominate one observer each to the Board. Associate members also include representatives from key stakeholders, National Network of Assessment Centres (NNAC), Independent Assessment Centres (IAC) and Assistive Technology Service (ATS) providers who each nominate one observer to the board.

The role of the associate member is to attend quarterly DSA-QAG board meetings and to represent their organisation, participate in board discussions and to assist DSA-QAG in its mission to continuously make improvements for disabled students attending Higher Education institutions during the needs assessment process and the receipt of equipment and services in line with the Quality Assurance Framework (QAF) and the Disabled Students' Allowances (DSAs).